scroll down


Photron is pleased to announce the winners of Slow Motion Video Awards!

Artistic Video Award

Tit - A day at the window ...

Thomas Meier

Capture Speed : 4,000fps


Landing and taking off titmice.

Scientific Video Award

Rebound of a oil-lubricated water drop on a hydrophilic surface

Muhammad Saeed Saleem

Capture Speed : 20,000fps


A compound drop consisting of a water core and a silicone oil shell impacts on a hydrophilic glass substrate. Remarkably, the oil shell acts as a lubricating layer upon impact, promoting either full or partial rebound of the inner water drop from the glass substrate, even when this glass substrate is completely hydrophilic. Additionally, a cavity is formed in the center of the spreading water core. When the water core retracts, this cavity collapses and a sharp vertical oil jet is ejected at high speed.


Destroying Eggs

Jens Heidler

Capture Speed : 16,200fps


Destroying eggs with a slingshot.

Viscous Folding 1080

Phred Peterson

Capture Speed : 1,600fps


Folding of a glycerol droplet in a salt solution.

Thunder and lightning

Harald Kleine

Capture Speed : 10,000,000fps and 1,250,000fps


Thunder and Lightning- A sequence of high-speed schlieren visualizations of the spark and its associated shock wave, generated with a Ruhmkorff coil. Recording speeds are 10 million fps for the first clip and 1.25 million fps for the remaining ones.

Bubbles in earth conditions VS Bubbles in microgravity conditions

Patricia Vega Martinez

Capture Speed : 2,000fps


The diffusion-driven growth of a foam ball in supersaturated liquids. Under normal gravity conditions, a bubble cloud grows by diffusion, however this process is interrupted after a few milliseconds when the bubble cloud starts a buoyancy-included rising motion. On the other hand, under micro-gravity conditions bubbles grow by pure diffusion.

Judging Panel

We want to express our thanks to the judges for the awards.

Judging Panel

Dr. Martin C. Richardson

University of Central Florida, USA

Judging Panel

Dr. Bao Li Yao

Xi‘an Institute of Optics and Precision Mechanics, China

Judging Panel

Seddik Benhammadi

Science and Technology Facilities Council, UK